Old 06-13-2005, 10:35 AM   #1  

Default Feeling very weak...

Hello all! I'm a newbie here and have been doing Atkins for about a week now. Or rather have been easing in to Atkins. I have drastically cut down on the carbs, but haven't quite gotten down to 20 per day for the true induction. I'm beginning induction today. My question is, if low-carb eating/Atkins is supposed to give you more energy, why do I feel so weak? My arm and leg muscles just feel so fatigued. Walking up a flight of stairs now makes my leg muscles tired! Its not as if I'm not getting enough to eat - I eat plenty of protien, etc. plus I'm taking my vitamin. Has anyone had any similar experiences or have any suggestions/answers? All would be appreciated! Thanks everyone and have a great day!
SkinnyAgainSoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2005, 01:43 PM   #2  
Baby Steps

I'm guessing that the reason you feel weak is you haven't gone completely into induction so you're still trying to fight off bad-carb cravings. Your body hasn't adjusted to burning fat so it's still burning the other carbs you're eating. And most everyone goes through this and it can range from 3 days to a couple weeks that you go through this. Tough it out and keep up the good work!!
lady_adnerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2005, 01:56 PM   #3  
Lovin' Life

S/C/G: 300/too much/155

Yes this has happened to me too....even my arms get too weak to wash my hair. Go figure! Like Brenda said, its your body making the switch....it might take a few days, but you'll have the energy boost soon enough. If its bothering you too much, pick up some potassium supplements and take those for a while until things have switched over.

Good Luck to you, sounds like things are moving in the right direction.
RobinW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2005, 06:02 PM   #4