Old 01-16-2015, 12:23 PM   #1  

Height: 5'7"

Default Low Carb -or- Nutrient-Dense?

I'm in a bit of a quandary! I've been eating lower-carb for several months. Usually between 100 - 120 g. (total, not net). I have definitely felt better and like it's helped my weight loss. Most of my carbs come from my massive supper-replacing nighttime smoothie (1 1/2 c milk, 1 1/2 cups fruit blend, 3 oz baby spinach). I HATE veggies and this is the only way to get them in.

Lately, I've been craving some variety in my diet...cravings of the 'carb' kind. They're all healthy - whole wheat oatmeal pancakes, thin whole wheat crust mini pizzas, etc. - but on days when I have these carby meals, I don't eat my supper smoothie because it would throw my carbs into the 175+ gram range. I feel guilty because I'm not getting many nutrients on those days, but I worry that if I start to feel deprived, I'll start to eat unhealthy things again. I've been wondering...is it better to eat healthier but higher carb, or better to stay low-carb and just accept that 3 or so days a week, I won't get the healthy smoothie? I thought maybe some of you long-term low carb eaters might have done the research already.

Thanks!
Frances123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 12:31 PM   #2  
I got this

S/C/G: 206/162/135

Height: a little over 5'2

Hi, I'm still a newbie when it comes to low carb but my suggestion would be to maybe cut the fruit and milk in half for the smoothie, and add some cottage cheese. It's a bit lower in carbs compared to milk.

Curious, how do you make your pancakes? I use cottage cheese, old fashioned oats, and an egg plus some cinnamon and baking powder. As for the pizzas, maybe try a spaghetti squash or some type of veggie crust instead of whole wheat.

Just ideas I'm throwing out here.

As for your question, I don't know if it's good or bad but honestly, if it works for you, I see no harm.

Last edited by amandie; 01-16-2015 at 12:32 PM.