Old 04-20-2009, 07:37 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 370/320/190

Height: 5'7"

Default Never thought I'd have this problem - too few calories?

Sorry for all the questions, but like I said, I'm a noob. :P

I've been trying to watch my sodium for the past few days, so I've been avoiding half of the stuff I'd normally eat. I'm trying to stay around 1600-2000 calories, but lately I've been around 1000. I know that can't be enough. I told my mom (she's a nurse) and she told me that was way too few and that I could gain weight just from eating too little.
I've searched online and couldn't really find anything that could tell me what the minimum should be for my height and weight, so I thought I'd ask here. How many calories is too few calories?
fenderella5678 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 07:49 PM   #2  
Just Yr Everyday Chick

S/C/G: Lost 50 lbs, regained some

Height: 5'3"

I went to Freedieting.com and chose daily calorie needs, and entered your stats. I also went to Mayo Clinic and used their calculator. These are all over the web--you could also go to Fitday.com.

You should be able to lose weight--at least a pound a week--eating 1800 calories a day. That's if you are mostly sedentary. If you get regular exercise, you may lose more.

So, yeah, 1000 is toooooo low! And so is 1200.

Jay
JayEll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 07:56 PM   #3  
Ija
Extra gluten

S/C/G: 286/135/135

I can't say for sure what the right calorie level is for you, but I will say that it's definitely not 1000. You'll starve yourself with that... When I began losing weight at 286 pounds I ate 2000 calories per day. I'm almost half of that weight now, and I still eat about 1600 calories per day. It will be much better for you in the long run to keep your metabolism humming by giving your body sufficient calories and nutrients.
Ija is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 08:07 PM   #4  

S/C/G: 150/almost never weigh/115

Height: 5'2