Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 02-26-2011, 04:55 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 225/168/125

Height: 5'2

Default Rollerblading? Need some tips

Hello everyone,

I have decided to start rollerblading since the weather has changed and I feel like being outside again. I have never done this (inline skates) before but I saw a guy pass by me two months ago on skates and I thought I would enjoy it too. Really I need some tips so I don't look like a fool out there. Any advice is welcome. Here's my questions....

Where should I buy skates?
Do I really need all the padding?
How fast and how far should I go?
Will it help me lose belly fat????

Thanks
Dusti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 02:51 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 190/136/133

Height: 5'-5"

I love rollerblading! It can be a great workout if you're not just letting the wheels do all the work. (Find some uphills and work hard and then enjoy coasting down them!)

I am on my second pair of K2 skates and I love them, although I have owned the Rollerblade brand in the past. I think Dick's Sporting Goods carries the Rollerblade brand. I think most major sports stores carry some form of inline skates? Hopefully you can find a knowledgable employee to help you.

If you are a beginner, I would recommend a helmet (just a regular bike helmet is great) and knee pads, although I don't think the pads are all that necessary once you get comfortable doing it. I have been skating since I was a kid a am very comfortable doing it without pads, but watch out for sticks, rocks and especially sticky parts of the street if they've recently filled any cracks or something.

Rollerblading is just yet another form of cardio so it won't help you lose belly fat specifically, but your quads will get an awesome workout!!
Trail Runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 03:09 PM   #3  
Back at It!

S/C/G: 238/220/170

Height: 5'4 1/2