Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 02-12-2011, 11:40 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 295/278/160

Height: 5'7

Default Is there such a thing as 'too much' working out?

When you're just starting out, how much is too much exercise?

Way back when I was a teenager, I was a runner, then gave up running and became a hardcore cyclist. I loved the rush that came from a good work out. I can sense that starting to happen. I was at the gym yesterday, for the second time. I did 50 minutes of cardio (broken up), and a round on the weight machines. I spent the rest of the day feeling like I should do more. I did stretch out a few times, using my 3lb dumbells. Today I am up and at'em and wanting to go to the gym, or do a work out video (or both?).

I am sort of concerned that I may fall back into that "addiction" of working out, and wondering, if I am just starting out, is that a bad thing? I can I damage myself or my weight loss efforts?

I did some weight lifting as a teen too, and I know that I can hurt myself by using too heavy of weights, or using them improperly, etc. But what I am really wondering is, will I do myself harm by working out too often?? Or will I stagnate my weight loss efforts?

Last edited by OhMyDogs; 02-12-2011 at 11:41 AM.
OhMyDogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 11:47 AM   #2  
Calorie counter

Height: 5'4.5"

Here's my take on this. I get addicted to the gym quite easily. I get so addicted and so intense that eventually a day comes that I simply can not face another day of what I've been doing. In the past this has led to giving up. This is all-or-nothing thinking at its worst.

What I did this time was set up what I call a "baseline" of activity. It is a routine that is easy for me and routine. It's what I fall back on when things get too hard. For me, that's cardio M/W/F and lifting T/Th, period. Simple and sustainable.