Old 12-04-2008, 12:33 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 145/145/125

Height: 5'5"

Default Graduate Students?

Hi members!

I am a graduate student in medical school and I find that having such a hectic schedule with free food (pizza and burritos) is really hurting my diet. I was wondering if anyone is in the same situation and how you deal with passing down a free lunch...especially if everyone else is eating around you!
kalafornia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 12:50 AM   #2  
back in the game

S/C/G: 311/180/170

Height: around 5'10"

Hi kalafornia.... I'm a grad student as well, it seems there are several of us here. I got offered a free dinner yesterday...pizza.... took 3 slices... so maybe I am not the best person to offer advice on this subject. It's not easy to pass it up, but if you have healthy food with you already to eat then that might make it easier. Otherwise you can just do the best you can with what is offered if you really want it, like take 1 slice of pizza... (is that realistic??? not for me!! lol)... and a burrito doesn't have to be unhealthy depending on what's on it.

Anyway, I saw all we can do at this stressful time of year is make the best choices we can as often as we can. Good luck!
futuresurferchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 12:52 AM   #3  

S/C/G: 317/317/140

Height: 5'3

I know it's hard to turn down a free lunch but I guess that is when will power comes into play. Also I don't believe in completely depriving yourself of something. If not having a piece of pizza is going to drive into a binge of eating everything then have one small piece and then eat some fresh fruit or veges. I also try to make enough food to last me a week. I will cook a big pot of soup, cook up several chicken breast, etc. This way when I want to make lunch or dinner in a hurry most of the work is already done for me. Hope this helps
Brandyc100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 02:04 AM   #4  
Arilib

S/C/G: 223/129/1??

Height: 5'3"