Weight and Resistance Training Boost weight loss, and look great!

Old 03-12-2008, 07:40 AM   #1  
Ready to get serious

Height: 5'3

Question Weights

Hi all,

Ok I am not sure if this is a dumb question or not, but of course I will still ask it
Anyways, I have been doing strength training with 5 pound weights for the past two months. So my question is, how do you know when to move on to heavier weights? Is it after a certain amount of time, or when you don't find it challenging with the weights you are using?
Thanks for everyones help in advance!
Shimmeringsun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 08:39 AM   #2  
Low Carb Lolita

S/C/G: 185/see ticker/135

Height: 5'7"

I usually work out in 3 sets of 8-12 reps. I'm not sure what your set/rep scheme looks like, but I like to use that sort of mid-range instead of a very high-rep range (15+ reps per set). I think a good way to figure out whether or not you want to move up to a heavier weight is: test it out! If you think your 5 pound DBs are too light (and they probably are), test out the next weight range. If you can get through 3 sets of 8-12 reps without failing, then you're good. If the last few reps of each set are really hard, that's an even better sign. If they're not, try something a little heavier.

When I started "lifting" (and I use this loosely--because I feel that until I began lifting heavier things, I wasn't lifting at all), I was using 5 pound dumbbells (DBs). I eventually found that I was a lot stronger than I thought I was, and that high-rep training all the time wasn't ideal. I'm currently using 20 lb DBs for most DB movements, though sometimes 15 or 10 lb ones (depending on which muscle groups I'm using--some are stronger than others!).