Weight and Resistance Training Boost weight loss, and look great!

Old 01-25-2007, 11:41 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 230/125/125

Height: 5'4

Default Question from Newbie....

Ok, so I'm new in this particular area of 3FC. And I have been going to the gym and lifting (for toning, not mass) plus cardio for about a month now. I had got down to my goal weight last week, and I was so excited...however when I weighed this week, I was a pound up. WTF?? I just recently read a post about retaining water to repair muscle damage, so that could be the culprit, but I have no idea as to why I gained a pound. Because my eating habits haven't changed...and if anything they've been better....

So I'm just looking for some advice...Thanks!

Carrie
Cheercoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2007, 05:42 PM   #2  

My weight fluctuates daily. First, I am 2-4 lbs heavier in the evening than in the morning. Second, a lifting day is an automatic 2 lbs on the scale, but then it disappears. Third, if I have an extra glass of liquid, I'm up until it works its way out of my system.

The standard I use whether assessing if I've lost or gained lbs is- if I'm the same weight for 5 days straight, it's real. Otherwise, it temporary.
northernbelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2007, 08:03 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 266 / 179 / 165

Height: 5'7"

Oh gosh, this could be so many things! Your weight is not going to be like clockwork, and it could have easily been a pound in the other direction. Where you are in the month, if you ate something a little salty before that would cause you to hold on to some extra water, food in your digestive tract that hasn't come out yet (to be polite about it). I think most people keep a 3-4 pound range as normal for themselves and as long as they hover in that range, they're doing alright.