Weight and Resistance Training Boost weight loss, and look great!

Old 01-12-2007, 09:24 AM   #76  
Aww, look at the bunny!

S/C/G: 200/174/162

Height: 5' 9"

Hi. *waves* I'm a chemistry student, on my last semester (of undergraduate, at least).

I started getting interested in weight training when I was thinking about how metabolism works...I mean, anything that lets you eat more ice cream without getting fatter seemed like a winning deal to me. I'm a student, so I signed up for a weight training class last semester and now I'm hooked. I love being stronger, I love that my back pain has subsided, I love the new shape my body is taking. (I'm sure it will be even better if I can shed some of the fat it's hiding under.) My big pipe dream: to someday do an unassisted pull-up...got a long way to go on that one, but it does a surprisingly good job of keeping me motivated.

At the moment I'm more focused on fat loss than strength gain, and I'm going at the fat with a combination of rigorous cardio (I'm learning how to run...yes, learning, I was never very active as a child, so this is pretty new.) and some diet modifications.

Height: 5' 9"
Starting, current and target bodyweight (in pounds): 200, 196, 162
Body Fat %: 36% (according to a three site skinfold test 1/5/07)

Wish me luck! (Well, maybe not luck so much as resolve. Scratch that, do wish me luck, I've got resolve, but particularly bad luck could completely ruin my well-laid plans.)
twistedhoneydew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2007, 11:30 PM   #77  

S/C/G: 174/137/135

Height: 5"5

Hey, y'all. I've been reading all of the great posts, so I thought I'd introduce myself. I'm fast approaching the big 4-0 and I want to celebrate that milestone by greeting a healthier, happier me. So far, I've been committed to weights and eating right for going on three weeks now and I feel good. Just wanted to say "hey!"
KylieH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 09:10 AM   #78  
in development

Height: 5' 6"