Old 12-27-2007, 10:33 PM   #1  
weight watching

Default What are your challenges....

.....and how have you overcome (or how are you overcoming) them?

Hi! I'm rejoining. I'm on Christmas break (I'm a teacher) and have about a week where I KNOW I'll be able to post whenever I want -- hope to start a new habit.

In thinking about what I'm going to do right this time, and what's gone wrong before, I've come up with a few challenges -- things I always let derail me. The answer to overcoming them is just doing it, I'm sure, but I'd appreciate any suggestions.

1. Trying to be PERFECT and do everything at once. (So easy to stop the first day or two one doesn't score 100 on everything.)

2. Not having a schedule -- I've gotten into a 20-year habit of grabbing food when I want it and not cooking proper meals. The solution is to stop it, but I haven't worked out the details yet.

3. A sister of number 2 above: grabbing snacks, or anything that's quick, rather than cook.

I have solved one of the challenges of my youth, which is weigh myself every 3 hours AND give up if I didn't lose 2 or 3 pounds in a week, so there is hope.

Anyone else have challenges like these? What are your challenges and potential stumbling blocks?
Bloomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2007, 11:08 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 330/ticker/192

Height: 5'10

You're right we all have 'em. I think embedded in the challenges you list, and the challenges I have faced, is the need for a plan. For every challenge I face, I think of ways to set myself up for success, rather than pretending I'll do better the next time I'm face with the same challenge, having made no changes.

There are lots of challenges, but here are some tactics I use to head off mine: