Old 04-27-2010, 02:33 PM   #1  
One step at a time

S/C/G: 183/136.2/125-130

Height: 5'7

Default OT - Making coffee

This is kind of embarrassing...I have no idea how to make coffee. Well, I didn't, I bought a really cheapo coffee maker at Walmart, and have officially produced my first cup.

I'm not a coffee expert, by any means, but it was kind of bitter and, well, intense. Maybe it was just the kind I used (Foldgers Classic Roast), or maybe I used too much? Or maybe that's how it's supposed to taste and I'm just coffee-ignorant? I've had exactly 5 cups of coffee in my entire life, and they have all come from Burger King within the last month. So, my experiences are fairly limited, haha.

I don't want to become a caffeine fiend, but I've discovered that 1) I like the coffee-drinking experience, taking a few min to sit with a hot cup and the smell/taste 2) it gives me a great boost for the day and for workouts 3) it suppresses my appetite almost completely, for once in my life, I have no munchies. Now I realize that I drink it everyday, these effects will be minimized, so I'm going to keep it as a once or twice weekly treat. Also, I'd love to add a bit of coffee to smoothies for flavor for breakfast smoothies.

So any tips on making coffee? I know it's a pretty straightforward process, but I'm seriously clueless, haha.
mkendrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2010, 02:41 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 155/98.2/100

Height: 4'10.5"

I'm no help! I've only ever made coffee at work, and it always seemed to taste bad to me. That's what half-and-half and Splenda were invented for!

I think if you buy fancier brand name coffee, it tastes a little better, but I still won't drink it black.
chickapea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2010, 02:45 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 184/181/160

Height: 5'11"

It's all trial and error when figuring it out. And also depends on whether you put anything in it. Try adding a little more/less coffee grinds. Try different brands.