Old 05-11-2009, 11:56 PM   #1  

Height: 5' 5"

Default Not About WL, But I Need Advice!

Hi Friends!!!

I am an amateur dater. I have not been on one date in my 26 years and find myself stumbling around when I like someone. Either I miss opportunities (and just crazy regret it!!) or have a few memories of weird rejection.

So I just fumble with dating and have no idea what to do.

This brings me to my current situation: I have a good friend. We have been friends for awhile but the whole time I have been interested in him. I flirt as I normally do, which is not too obvious (or aggressive) I guess.

He is incredibly uncomfortable with dating and this makes me back off. The last time he dated someone was high school. I think he's really insecure...?

But recently I've been really sure that I want to make our friendship something more.

I'm not sure if he realizes it. And if he does, his dating insecurities make him really unsure.

So it's like the blind leading the blind. If he's interested (which I get the feeling he might be...?), it's just the two of us entering completely uncharted territory.

Another friend recently said to me while we were out to dinner..."Y'all are cute" about me and the boy I'm writing about. And we went to a dinner the other day and everyone thought we were dating.

So I think this means there is chemistry and it's not just me. (This makes me so nervous!)

WHAT AM I SUPPOSED TO DO?? SAY SOMETHING?? WAIT FOR HIM TO DO SOMETHING??

(I don't think he ever will! And I have this little voice in the back of my head saying he never will say anything because he feels like he could do better or that if *I* say something it'll make the friendship awkward or he'll get really embarrassed.) Will it ruin the friendship? I can be friends with someone if they say they are interested and I'm not.