Closed Thread

Old 01-16-2003, 08:05 AM   #1  

Default does anyone strength train?

Good morning,
I was wondering if anyone here had success with strength training? I really need to tone my body (especially hips/behind and arms). I bought 3 pound weights (I'm a wimp) and a video from Prevention magazine called "Fat to Firm," which is a twenty minute strength training video.

Any suggestions or success stories appreciated! Does it really increase your metabolism and help you drop clothing sizes (along with healthy eating and aerobic exercise, that is?)

Thanks,
Sherry
Old 01-16-2003, 08:35 AM   #2  

Most definitely!!! I am a HUGE proponent of strength training for well-being. There are tons and tons of different routines out there, and I've never run across one I thought was bad ... Obviously you've picked one to get started, and that's the important thing. I've been lifting weights for about 7 months now, and while I wouldn't say it's been any obvious help with weight loss, it has made a world of difference in my mood, energy and attitude.

After you've done it for a while, you'll probably want to explore some more options ... I think it's a good idea to vary your workout every once in a while. If you're not feeling more energy, you're probably not working hard enough -- and in my experience you don't have to push yourself all that hard to get that feeling.

You'll probably also want to get a few more weights soon. Many routines instruct you to go from lower weights to higher, or higher to lower (I prefer lower to higher myself) ... plus you'll discover that you really want to use a heavier weight on some muscles. For instance, especially when I started, my shoulders were particularly weak and I found a 5-pound weight on shoulder exercises was pretty strenuous. But with my biceps, I had to use as much as a 10 pound weight to get a real challenge going.