Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 03-12-2010, 08:11 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 324/283/260

Height: 5'7''

Default anyone ever waited out a plateau?

Does that work? Does the plateau eventually pass? Just curious.
katkitten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 08:30 AM   #2  
motivational guru wannabe

S/C/G: 205/205/185 by spring

Height: 5'4"

I am no expert...BUT, I was at the same weight from about the holidays till two weeks ago. I kept telling myself, "It's a plateau, it'll pass". Well, eight weeks and no change...so I decided something had to change. I switched my excercise around (added some strength training with light weights), and really took a look at my eating. Although I was staying within points (doing weight watchers) I was filling those points with more processed foods. Went back to eating a fruit or veggie with each meal, and WHAMO...three pounds off right away. Maybe try some small changes and see if that makes the scale move. Best of luck to you!!!
boatingmommy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 09:12 AM   #3  
Calorie counter

Height: 5'4.5"

I have. But you have to ask yourself, am I totally one hundred percent on plan? Is there any chance this plateau is self-induced? Am I guilty of calorie creep?

If the plateau is a true plateau, yes, I have just waited it out...sort of. I have a hard time doing nothing to help myself. I tend to increase the water, go back to diet basics (weighing and measuring everything) and I tend to increase the exercise and the sleep.
Eliana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 11:28 AM   #4  
3 + years maintaining

S/C/G: 287/120's

Height: 5 foot nuthin'

I too think you have to be brutally honest and evaluate if there is a possible "cause" for this said plateau...
rockinrobin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 12:20 PM   #5  

S/C/G: 197/135/?

Height: 5'7"

I've waited out a couple. 3 weeks or so and things started moving again without any changes.