General chatter Because life isn't just about dieting. Play games, jokes, or share what's new in your life!

Old 04-09-2013, 09:11 AM   #1  

Height: 165 cm (5'5'')

Default advice about future careers and university / life

Hi all,

I'm interested in your opinions about my situation

So I am in my third year of a four year degree (to become a pharmacist) and while I love what I am learning while I am actually at university, I absolutely hate the actual profession. I have been completing my first work placement and I feel like I am just stuck in a retail store as a cashier. And when I think about spending the rest of my life (or even a year) in that environment...it makes me feel like i want to vomit.

I'm terrified because I have spent such a large amount of money getting this far in the degree and i want to actually have that piece of paper so say that i have completed the degree, but I desperately never want to work as a pharmacist.

Some of you may wonder why i continued when i realized that i hated the degree (and I will admit now that some of these reasons are pathetic), I was always given the expectation that I would attend university, but I was never really afforded the choice of what I did. I didn't know during school what I wanted to do and instead of encouraging me to find out and explore, my parents (my mother) found out the degrees that are done at the small local university and essentially forced me into it. (Also I am actually good at the profession.). I felt pressured by my parents to take this option and have been ridiculously unhappy ever since, the worst part being that I am not able to tell them how unhappy that I am because their only response is: too bad, do you think we were always happy? Add to that I have been stuck in this tiny little town where everyone knows you and you can't even grown and change because no matter what you do it will be ridiculed.