Depression and Weight Issues Have you been diagnosed with depression, are possibly on depression medication, and find it affects your weight loss efforts? Post here for support!

Closed Thread

Old 02-10-2004, 03:08 AM   #1  

Post New to 3FC

Hi. I'm fairly new to 3FC and I've been visiting a couple of the groups but haven't found a nest here, yet.
I'm 47, married for 28 years, six kids (25 boy,22girl,19 boy,16 girl,15boy,10boy). We moved a couple of months ago and I'm still adjusting. Haven't found a new job yet (previously worked as a health unit coordinator) so we're also broke . I don't know what else to tell you... I love to read (mystery's, romances, non-fiction), quilt, and, well... eat. I'm not on a diet right now because I can't figure out how to stay on one without waking up the beast.
I've been taking Prozac for almost two years. Prior to that I'd been having panic attacks and I was crying ALL of the time. My youngest son takes Paxil and he's gaining weight, but I haven't noticed that kind of side effect from Prozac.
Anyway, I wanted to let you know that I'm here
Skjolden
Old 02-10-2004, 07:11 AM   #2  
Moderator & Happy Chick

Height: 5' 10"

Welcome Skjolden,

WOW 6 kids, God Bless you !! I only have one, can't imagine more than that lol, although I am the younget of 7 lol.

My mother is 75 years young and she just recently (6 years) has been taking Prozac, she has lost weight with it. I think depression does run in families because (4 girls and 3 boys) speaking for us girls, we all seem to have it. I have seasonal depression and my two of my sisters are on Prozac and Paxil. I didn't realize it until this year how much my diet has played a roll in my depression. I started Atkins last july and this has been the best year I have had w/depression, I haven't had to take any meds and I would say 2 weeks out of the winter season, since october, I can say I was really depressed. I am just so amazed at how eating carbs has such an effect on me.