Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 09-03-2012, 01:45 PM   #1  

Default Scared of school

Hello everyone! I am 29, I weigh 300 pounds, and I just started a new degree track. This wouldn't normally intimidate me, but I'm majoring in Pastry and Culinary Arts. My cooking knowledge definitely helps me prepare healthier and more nutritious food at home, but I am a bit concerned about my will power in the class kitchen. Just the other day red velvet cupcakes were passed around that had been baked in another class kitchen. I declined, but I don't know if that decision will always be so easy.

Being a chef is a huge life goal, and I am really excited for this career path, I just need some focus while going through the classes. It doesn't help that I am by far the heaviest person in my classes. That only makes me feel odd and like everyone is judging me.

Thanks for reading my vent. Any support, tips, or suggestions are welcome!
TheLauren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 01:52 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 230/ticker/150

Height: 5'8

Hey! Welcome aboard!

I find that at my part time job they sometimes have "cupcake days" where they
all buy cupcakes from the place down the street. I pretty much just anticipate that cupcakes will be there whenever I go to work and leave enough calories in my meal plan that day to accommodate one (usually ~300 calories). If I eat one, then I'm covered in my calorie count, if not - great! I can use those calories for an extra something at supper, or just not eat them if I'm not hungry!
Katbot24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 02:14 PM   #3  
Katrina

S/C/G: 162/see ticker/130

Height: 5'6

Welcome!

My advice would be that if you don't have enough will power to say no completely, try and just take a little bite and instantly throw the rest of your share away. I know how hard it is to pass up cupcakes (Red Velvet is my favorite and you showed far more will power than I would have been able to).