Old 04-25-2011, 06:36 AM   #1  
ish

S/C/G: 239/ticker/165

Height: 5'9"

Default Tell me what I (don't) want to hear.

I've been on again off again here, and I'm back and planning to stay, for a very long while.

I'm just looking to set a realistic, but inspiring, goal this time around. I'm starting at an all time high weight of 239 lbs (eek) on a 5'9" frame. I'm 24 years old and I'm a kindergarten teacher (so I am moving around a lot during the day.) As of today I am counting calories, cutting out fast food and sugary junk and replacing that with fruit and veg. and as of tomorrow I am going to be walking/jogging for a minimum of an hour a day.

Would you say it's reasonable to aim to be out of the 200's by August 1st? I know the rule of thumb is ten pounds a month, but I have so much to lose and so many changes to make. At the same time, I don't want to set myself up for failure. I know the important thing is to just start making changes...

I'm open to any/all advice, truly! Thank you in advance! I think I just need to talk this out a bit before I set my mind to it once and for all.
ish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 06:50 AM   #2  

S/C/G: 250/168/150

Height: 5'7"

For me, 10 pounds a month would be impossible. I lose around 5 a month with calorie counting and exercising with a personal trainer 3X a week and running. I also have had plateaus that lasted for months. I don't think you can put a time on making goals, it's setting yourself up for disappointment.
JessLess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 07:09 AM   #3  

S/C/G: 250/225/165

Height: 5'6

It really depends on the person, but I'd say that the "expectation" often referenced as realistic is about 2 pounds a week, approx. 8 pounds a month. Although that might not get you to ONEderland by August 1st, wouldn't you rather be 215 by that date than still be 239?