Weight and Resistance Training Boost weight loss, and look great!

Old 05-13-2010, 10:15 PM   #1  
Lova Lova

S/C/G: 180/173/150

Height: 5' 10

Default What can you REALLY eat?

I'm new to weight training and I've heard all sorts of stuff about what you can eat while weight training for weight loss. Right now I do forty minutes four days a week of free weights and resistance stuff. I do cardio the other two days, just on a treadmill for a half hour. I've just started doing this about a week ago, and people keep telling me that I just need to eat more protein and not worry about what I eat otherwise.
Sounds ridiculous to me, could that possibly be true? I'm trying to eat more protein, but I find myself snacking wayyyy too much and I highly doubt results will come with the snacking. MOST of the snacking is comparably healthy, fruit, granola, peanut butter, etc...but still...I feel like I'm just eating too much. At the same time, I keep hearing to make sure NOT to eat too little or I won't build muscle. I want to lose the last fifteen pounds, and this is the advice I've been told.
The workouts aren't what I'm worried about, I have a very educated friend who works out with me and checks my form...it's the DIET I'm concerned about. Honestly...what can one eat, lifting four days a week?
Any help would be so, so appreciated.
I did read through the forum but I couldn't find too many specifics about the diet, so I figured I'd be okay to ask.

Last edited by qqforweightloss; 05-13-2010 at 10:16 PM.
qqforweightloss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 05:34 PM   #2  

It's not exactly on topic, but, might be useful for you. I injured my back a week ago and since then have not worked out (aside from very light stretching/yoga). I am SHOCKED as to how little I am eating this week. I'm STUFFED after half of a standard-sandwich-size-bread turkey sandwich.