Old 01-10-2008, 02:32 PM   #1  

Height: 5' 8"

Smile New to 3FC and looking for motivators

Hi all! Just found you. What a great site. Betcha there are about a bazillion new members being 1st of the year and all I'm just getting started (for the umpteenth time) on a new diet & exercise program. I used to be 5'8" but I've got some shrinkage starting - hence the new fervor for exercise - I'm hoping to get the shrinkage happening in the width rather than the height. Of course the other part of the motivation was when my husband dragged out our wedding pictures and blurted out "what the **** happened!" (my wedding dress was a size 8) In his defense, he did try to smooth it over by saying he meant what happened to his hair (that is no more) but since my sz 16s are getting a tad snug...... A few months ago I did start putting in a mile a day on the treadmill at full incline but still just kept getting bigger so I got frustrated and quit. New plan is - I invested in another piece of equipment that came with a 30 minute exercise program on DVD. This program focuses on alternating strengthening moves with stretching moves and recommends you do it 2 or 3 times a week. You do actually get your heart rate up doing this (at least in my current lack of fitness I do) but I thought I would do this program every other day and either go back to the treadmill or jump rope on the alternate days just to keep the cardio as part of the regimen. The hardest part for me is going to be changing the eating habits - for (like ever) the longest time I have only eaten one meal a day. Even when I was that size 8 I only ate dinner. Any time I started adding lunch or breakfast I started adding pounds. Now everyone is saying I need to eat more to lose weight but I am really nervous about gaining even more. The other challenge is that Hubs is this cute little Italian guy who stays solid as a rock (even though he now qualifies for senior citizen discounts) just by going on the treadmill 4 or 5 times