Weight and Resistance Training Boost weight loss, and look great!

Old 09-21-2011, 08:37 AM   #1  
(slim) shady

S/C/G: 193/188/155

Height: 5'2"

Default Newbie Question on Arm Weight Lifting

Hey everyone,

I'm very new to weight lifting and I have been focus on my arms since I sadly carry SO MUCH fat there. I have heard about muscle memory and needing to switch up routines so your body doesn't get used to what you are doing so I wanted to ask real quick if my routine so far seems okay ...

I go to the gym nearly every day (might be 1 day on the weekend that I don't go and I go for a long walk instead). I do 35 minutes on the elliptical, sometimes super HIT other times not so much as I'm totally exhausted from the day before.

About a week ago I started adding in weights for my arms. I do the weight machines every other day as I don't want to go overboard and kill myself. I do lateral pulldowns, fixed pulldowns, seated row, chest press, tricep extension and bicep curl. Those are the only weight machines I have tried so far.

I guess my question is - is doing the weights every other day a good way to keep your muscles guessing since it's not day after day?

Any advice? Also - since I am not doing any weight machines for legs yet - does anyone know if elliptical workouts build muscles in legs?

Thanks so much everyone!
steinanwine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 10:52 AM   #2  
Tellin' it like it is!

S/C/G: RESTART:153.5/147/135

Height: 5'4"

as an FYI, the pulldowns, the rows and the press do not work your arms, they are for your back, lats and chest.. so youre basically doing Upper body, not just arms. Why arent you working out your legs? I discourage you friom being dependent on the machines for strength training.. using free weights is SO MUCH better, for you, and strength and muscle development. The machines usually force you to move your body in 2 dimensional space, and our bodies dont move that way.