Whole Foods Lifestyle For discussion of whole foods and more natural diets.

Old 10-31-2006, 05:21 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 197/185/123-125

Height: 5'1"

Default Eating more to cut cravings?

Hi all,
I was just reading Glory's success story and she said something that really hit home with me. She mentions that eating more calories actually caused her to lose more weight, not gain it.

I'm having a similar experience. I've just been through a very rough few months and have found myself going back to the diet/binge cycle. In fact, I'd been on the cycle for months of being "good" and eating 1100-1200 calories a day of healthy food during the week and then when Thursday hit (my Friday since I'm a student and have no classes on Fridays) I'd suddenly feel the release of tention from the whole week and would go on a binge for the evening. Then Sat and Sun I'd be good most of the day and Sun night the thought of going back to school would depress me and I'd binge again.

I decided this weekend to chuck the diet mentality that has been so weighing me down for years and just eat whole good food and not worry too much about calories. I did a calorie total in Fitday just to see what it is and I'm eating about 1500 calories, 300 more a day than I was. But you know what? I didn't have a binge craving the whole weekend and I'm feeling much more satisfied than I have in the past few months on whole foods. I was eating a lot of processed stuff (especially because I'm a vegetarian so veggie burgers and hot dogs and sausages and all that) but I've moved to mostly whole foods and it's making a world of difference.

I just hope it will continue like this!

Tam
tammay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2006, 05:55 PM   #2  

You might enjoy Intuitive Eating #2 and we would love to have you join us.
carolr3639 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2006, 12:32 PM   #3