Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-12-2006, 12:52 PM   #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
ripples57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Catskill Mtns. of Upstate NY
Posts: 86

Question Anyone have a problem with this site being "slow"

It seems to take FOREVER some days just to get on this site and then even longer to search through the threads. I'm wondering maybe if it's just my computer, but it doesn't seem to do it on any other site. I've also been trying to register with ***********, which I've read about here from different people. I have tried several times to go through the process, but after I've done all the process, it just doesn't do anything. Pretty frustrating. Anyone have any input?
ripples57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2006, 01:04 PM   #2  
I will not fail!
 
Jtjoray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 614

S/C/G: 282/272/180

Height: 5' 10"

Default

Yes I have that problem too...but my main problem with this site is that I get MAJOR pop ups! At first I thought it was just my computer but it doesnt happen with any other site and it even happens on this site when I log on at work. Oh well....you take the bad with the good.
Jtjoray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2006, 01:45 PM   #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 6,192

S/C/G: 190/140/135

Height: 5'7"

Default

Can you download one of the free pop up blockers? I use Panicware. I have to use Pop up blockers for this site, all those new windows popping up makes me kinda crazy.
Glory87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2006, 01:47 PM   #4  
Elizabeth
 
telemetrynurse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 537

S/C/G: 233/158/145

Height: 5'6

Default

I find that it is a bit slow when I'm on my laptop which is wirelessly connected. If I'm on my desktop it is fine.

Fast or slow, I LOVE this site!
telemetrynurse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2006, 04:41 PM   #5  
Member
Thread Starter
 
ripples57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Catskill Mtns. of Upstate NY
Posts: 86

Default

Thanks everyone. At least I know it's not just me or my computer. I do get a lot of pop ups too. Guess I'll try to check out a pop up blocker. Not too computer savvy, so I'll ask DH to give it a try. Tanks again!!
ripples57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2006, 04:47 PM   #6  
Senior Member
 
kykaree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lancashire, England
Posts: 3,171

Default

I use Mozilla Firefox for my browser and it is much faster than explorer, and it blocks the pop ups.

The site is quite fast during our day (whilst you lot are asleep) and gets slower as the evening draws on!! And when I wake up in the morning, the site is fast again, and there are lots of interesting posts to read!!!
kykaree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2006, 05:00 PM   #7  
Linda
 
famograham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Beautiful Vancouver Island, B.C. Canada
Posts: 1,781

Height: 5'0"

Default

It's never really slow for me...and strangely..I don't have any pop-ups!
I guess hubby has something set up.

The only thing I get is "Server is too Busy" once in a while, and then I can't get on at all...but it doesn't happen very often.

Good luck!
Linda
famograham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2006, 05:24 PM   #8  
Brit Chick
 
penpal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Beautiful Pacific Northwest
Posts: 1,438

Height: 5' 5"

Default

No problems here - I have a wireless iBook laptop and use Firefox or Safari as browsers and don't get any pop ups.
penpal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2006, 05:39 PM   #9  
Starting Fresh
 
sotypical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Beautiful BC, Canada
Posts: 4,834

Height: 5'2"

Default

I find at times this site to be VERY VERY slow and others just fine. It was funny cuz when I clicked on this thread it got very slow, haha. Usually if it is taking a really long time and nothing seems to be loading it is probably stuck on an ad and a refresh of the page helps. Sometimes I get the 'done' in the status bar and the page is still blank... it is normal - usually caused by an ad on the page not loading. Just refresh and everything should be good.

I used this site on both Mac and Windows and all three browers. I don't get pop ups at all, not even in Internet Explorer (pop up blocker is off).
sotypical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2006, 07:14 PM   #10  
I will not fail!
 
Jtjoray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 614

S/C/G: 282/272/180

Height: 5' 10"

Default

I have 2 pop up blockers and I dont have any problem with any other site except this one. I dunno what else I would have to do. Oh well.
Jtjoray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2006, 09:10 PM   #11  
LLV
Senior Member
 
LLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 3,509

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jtjoray
I have 2 pop up blockers and I dont have any problem with any other site except this one. I dunno what else I would have to do. Oh well.
Yeah, I get pop-ups here too. Even with the blocker on. It's always those tribal fusion thingies, if I spelled that correctly.
LLV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2006, 01:20 PM   #12  
Member
Thread Starter
 
ripples57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Catskill Mtns. of Upstate NY
Posts: 86

Default

Yeah, I get the blank screen too even when it says "done" s o I use my refresh bar alot. Guess there could be worse things huh?! :}}
ripples57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 05:07 AM   #13  
aka Superwoman!
 
2frustrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Finchley, London, UK
Posts: 6,461

S/C/G: SW:226/16st - about 50lbs lost

Height: 5'8"

Default

Only slow when I use dial-up!!!
I use Opera as a web browser and that's pretty fast, but I still get pop-ups. It's quite good though, since it tends to hide them and you can close them without viewing them!
2frustrated is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 03:41 PM   #14  
Here we go again...
 
Sunnigummi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: MN
Posts: 1,209

S/C/G: 176/ticker/155

Height: 5'5"/ 65 in

Default

I get two tribal fusion popups when I open this site - only this one and not any other. I have a pop up blocker on just like JT. Very annoying, but then again even 1 pop up would annoy me to no extent. Eh. Worse things can happen.
Sunnigummi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:57 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.