Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 03-13-2006, 02:55 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 155/137/120

Default newbie here, need advice

Hi there...I'm new to the site and need some advice. I'm trying to lose about 20lbs. I've belonged to the YMCA for a year and half now and have gone faithfully. I watch what I eat, but my problem is that I have gained and lost the same 10lbs in this year and a half. It's almost spring/summer and last year during the spring/summer I woke up everyday with my hands and feet swollen. I carry all of my weight in my butt and thighs, plus I'm only 4'11" so every pound counts. I just feel so discouraged. I feel like I'm doing everything right but it's not happening. Any suggestions, advice or support is greatly, greatly appreciated!
littlem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2006, 03:12 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 165/147/128

Height: 5'3"

Hi and welcome. I suggest that you do lots of reading here at 3fc. There are some awesome folks who walk the walk!
How about if you tell us what you do at the Y and what you eat. Sometimes all that's needed is a little tweaking.
srmb60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2006, 03:30 PM   #3  
Working on Hot!

S/C/G: 242/225/175

Hi I try to walk 4 miles a day....I have lost alot in my legs...every week I lose about 1 to 1 1/2 in my hips...you may want to try walking
la3y_un1c0rn_37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2006, 03:53 PM   #4  

Quote:
Originally Posted by SusanB
Hi and welcome. I suggest that you do lots of reading here at 3fc. There are some awesome folks who walk the walk!
How about if you tell us what you do at the Y and what you eat. Sometimes all that's needed is a little tweaking.
Ok...let's see. I usually take 2 cycling classes a week and on the other 2-3 days I do the stairmill and then free weights with some circuit. I have been doing lunges as well....usually about 250-350 lunges a week.