Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 07-28-2013, 02:22 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 205/184/158

Height: 5'7

Default Sleep and weight loss?

I keep reading that sleep is important to weight loss. Has anyone noticed a difference on the scales when they got more/better sleep?

I'm currently flying solo with 4 kids while hubby is overseas. With it being summer vacation our schedule is all out of whack. Even if the kids go to bed at a somewhat reasonable hour I've been struggling with insomnia. School starts in 3 wks for all of us (I'm a full time student) so I'm working hard to get us back on a normal schedule but I am so. tired. all the time. I'm sticking to my calorie goals though and running 4x/wk. Tonight I ran 6 miles in 68 mins. I've steadily increased my pace, finally broke 10 min mile consistently this week. But yeah, I'm exhausted. I also have all the housework to do, plus I push mow our 1.3 acre yard once a week (4 hrs, usually do 1/2 one day and 1/2 the next). The scales are holding steady, I've lost 20 but have been stuck for the past 2 wks, though it is TOM so maybe I'll see a big loss next week. Do you think getting on a regular consistent schedule with 8 hrs of sleep will help?

I can't wait until hubby gets home this fall and I get some real rest
Arrwillia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 02:39 AM   #2  

S/C/G: 227/ticker/135

Height: 5'10"

I keep reading about that as well, everywhere. Apparently, quite a few hormone levels that are responsible for weight loss and hunger control have increased levels during sleep (including the growth hormone - responsible for cell regeneration). Sleep is particularly helpful if you exercise/are active, because that is the time that you give your body for regeneration and rest.