Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 09-04-2009, 09:57 AM   #1  

Height: 5'3"

Default Problems with motivation

So, I'm working out with a trainer and watching what I eat. But I feel like I'm only semi-committed to losing this last bit of weight. I think the problem is that being overweight has never really held me back from anything in my life.
- I'm married to a great guy who thinks I look great
- I have two beautiful, smart, healthy children
- I have a master's degree
- I have a great job that pays well
- I am in excellent health

So... it's just vanity. I'm having a hard time sticking with it, since it's really hard and I'm not very competitive. I tell myself that I want to have a healthy BMI and set a good example for my children. But the reality is that I'm pretty healthy and we eat pretty healthy in our home.

Just "reaching my goal" doesn't seem to be enough.

Anyone else feel this way?
rachinma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 10:17 AM   #2  
Recovering Pantry Pest

S/C/G: 174.5/162/149

Height: 5'7"

Yep. Motivation's pretty low for me. What keeps me going, and sometimes it's the ONLY thing, is going back to RockinRobin's posts about the difference between commitment and motivation. I did make a commitment to a way of eating that eliminates mindless eating, reduces my alcohol intake, and focuses on good, whole foods. The commitment is resulting in a slow, steady weight loss. I know it's going to stop at some point because I'll have lost enough that my current calorie intake will become my maintenance level. Since I'm really quite happy with the way I eat now, and am certain that I can do it for the long haul, I guess I'm content to see where it leads.