3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community

3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/)
-   Weight Loss Support (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/weight-loss-support-13/)
-   -   careers, and weight issues. (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/weight-loss-support/125698-careers-weight-issues.html)

freethetoys 10-25-2007 02:35 AM

careers, and weight issues.

this is more of a starting topic i wanna get some opinions on.
DO PEOPLE FEEL THAT THEIR WEIGHT HOLDS THEM BACK EITHER EMOTIONALLY OR PHYSICALLY IN THEIR CAREER?

one reason i ask is because im doing a degree in the most cut-throat, judge you on what you look like thing ever, film tv and theatre.
since starting uni i have decided for fun to go along to auditions to have fun and not think much of it. But when you get told you have talent, and yet dont get a call back, i cant not take it personally.
especially when i watch what i eat, try very hard to stay active.

in my head i know that it was my choice to go into tv film and theatre, and unfortunetly if u wanna be infront of camera/audience , thats the way it is. But man it gets to you in a whole new mental way.....and makes u feel your actuall talent is worthless aswell as your own appearance.

anyway, im a bit more happy today because im gonna try and focuss on the production side of my degree more

but does anyone else feel or get like this is different carreres?
can anyone else sympathise?

NightengaleShane 10-25-2007 08:33 AM

Yay! Actresses unite! Interesting topic, by the way. :)

I'm an actress myself, and I've also fronted bands. I did quite a bit of print, commercial, and alternative modeling when I was thin, though once I packed on the pounds, my entertainment career died along with my social life! Once I lose these last 13-15 pounds (I've lost 35-37 already), I will make some attempts to get back into the spotlight.