Old 10-27-2009, 07:31 AM   #1  
Believe it, be it

S/C/G: 198/ticker/125

Height: 5'0"

Default Vegetarian food?

Still getting used to reading more into ingredients in foods to ensure there is no meat products or what have you in there. But, I still get thrown for a loop sometimes on if something is veggie or not.
For example, this item appears vegetarian, but since it doesn't say, is is really not? http://www.edenfoods.com/store/produ...ucts_id=103215

Anyone else have a bit of trouble sometimes with this sort of thing? It's probably because I'm a new vegetarian, so I'm still learning.
RangerChic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 08:14 AM   #2  
Sarah

S/C/G: 193/184.5/147

Height: 5'7

Yes, it's vegetarian

Enjoy
CardboardCutoutCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 08:19 AM   #3  

Height: 5'6"

That item is vegetarian.

Obviously, you want to stay away from anything that says chicken, pork, beef, etc. There's an old iPod app floating around somewhere that lists all of the hidden non-veg*n food ingredients, you may want to try google to see if you can find a list.

If you have a Trader Joe's around you, their prices are amazing and they mark their items as vegan, vegetarian, gluten-free, etc. If not, unfortunately, you're just going to have to learn to recognize key ingredients.

There have been some surprises for me along the way - like Stove Top stuffings - even the veggie flavored ones - usually have dehydrated chicken stock in them. And the Earth Balance sticks have whey in them, but the tub doesn't.

It will get easier for you, I remember spending ages in the grocery years ago reading the labels on everything!

Also, I don't know if you like to cook, but you could make 4-5 servings of that rice and bean mixture at home for a fraction of the cost, and know exactly what's going into it.
bacilli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 09:46 AM   #4  

S/C/G: obese/obese/healthy

Height: 5'7"