Closed Thread

Old 04-11-2007, 09:17 PM   #1  

Default Hi Im a newbie, sort of :D

Hi Im Autumn 34 years old sahm to a 3 year old and happily married for almost 7 years. Im a very new vegan. I have celiac disease and casein intolerance so Im limited to quinoa and brown rice for grains. Ever since my gall bladder removal I have to avoid all fats which includes oils, nuts, seeds, all meat, poultry, eggs, and dairy. I also avoid soy due to my thyroid problem.

I also avoid caffiene and sugar. I limit potatoes and tomatoes for rare occasions due to them aggravating my arthritis. Since Im new Im in desperate need of suppourt and advice I guess the most difficult part of it is it being a forced decision and very limiting but Im trying my best to stay positive about my life change. My one treat is spearmint leaves tea with local honey for my allergies. It almost feels like Im eating a candy

Currently I have been eating 2 cups of beans a day but I have read three would be optimal for the protein I need. Im also on a large amount of supplements. My regular multiple vitamin, calcium with vitamin d, biotin, vitamin e, flax seed oil and Im looking into apa for my eyes, I have glaucoma.

Autumn
Old 04-12-2007, 08:21 AM   #2  

S/C/G: 260/248.5/150

Height: 5'3"

Hi, Autumn!

Do you eat nuts at all? I love beans, but I don't know that I could eat three cups every day! I bet you could supplement some nuts with beans to add a little more protein.

Spearmint tea with honey sounds wonderful! Welcome to the board.
Old 04-12-2007, 11:24 AM   #3  
Ari

S/C/G: 400/341/150

If you want some good information about proteins, I recommend the Vegetarian Handbook by Gary Null. It is 22.50 at the bookstore but I have found that it is very worth it. Not only does it have a ton of information about why being vegetarian is healthy (not just the political issues), it has a lot of recipes (something like 90 or more) and also a list of which veggies have the best sources of protein.