3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community

3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/)
-   South Beach Diet (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/south-beach-diet-110/)
-   -   Thursday, March 2: In like a lion... (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/south-beach-diet/77752-thursday-march-2-like-lion.html)

beachgal 03-02-2006 11:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mamahulk
Ok here's my problem. I have been getting up with the kids at night time, non stop for weeks, execersing as much as I can, not cheating much at alland the scale hasn't moved. I just think after working sohard, being so decidated and determioned can't I be rewarded a little????? I am frustrated.

I know how frustrating that can be, Mamahulk! The thing is, you need sleep to lose weight. It sounds silly, but it's true! You need the time spent sleeping not only to do the actual work of moving your fat to be used, etc. (obviously I'm not a doctor or scientist! :lol: ). In addition, when you don't get enough sleep, your body releases chemicals that make you want to eat more, even though you don't need the extra calories. I know for me, I also crave because over the years I learned to eat carbs and sugar when I felt tired to get my going again. :rolleyes: Oy!

So, try to get more sleep...and in the meantime, be gentle and understanding with yourself. I have no excuse for my lack of sleep, but when I'm not working very hard on it, I usually get about 3-4 hours of sleep a night, and that's when I see my weight maintain or even gain. :tantrum: But, as soon as I get one or two nights of good sleep (7+ hours), the weight drops rapidly. So don't stress too hard, okay? Try to keep yourself from eating extra, no matter what cravings you have, and don't beat yourself up, okay? Don't forget to tell your cardiologist that you aren't getting enough sleep, okay? :hug:

3darlingsmomma 03-02-2006 12:16 PM