Old 03-13-2013, 07:05 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 218/190.4/155

Height: 5'7"

Default fueling workout on lower carb diet?

Hi all,

I'm new to 3FC, joined about 2 weeks ago and have been following the Insulin Resistance Diet (it's a book, look it up on amazon if you're interested). Basically, carbs are moderated and always linked and balanced with protein. So a meal has no more than 30 g carbs and 14 g protein, and a snack has half of that (15 g carb, 7 g protein). It's working pretty well and seems sustainable and I've lost five pounds () but there is one thing I need to trouble shoot.

I have been a runner for about three years, not super consistent or hard-core, but I've completed several 5ks and a 4 mile race. I'd say my average pace is like a twelve minute mile. Also, I live in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, so also navigating hills. I've also been known to treadmill it when weather isn't good.

Anyway, I enjoy running but since I've gone out on my new eating plan I feel like my gas tank is on empty! Today I did a 5k (not a race, just a workout) and my time was miserable. I know carbs provide energy for workouts. So how do folks who try to keep carbs down fuel their workouts? Should I plan to consume extra carbs before a workout (like a banana, or something)? I don't want to overdo and slow my weight loss, but I definitely am not going to be able to keep up my running at this rate. Any suggestions? Thanks everybody!
SuperCecilia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 10:50 AM   #2  
Heading Downtown...

S/C/G: 225/165/165

Height: 5'8"

"The Art and Science of Low Carbohydrate Performance" by Jeff S. Volek, PhD, RD and Stephen D. Phinney, MD, PhD.... might be worth taking a look at... Also "The Paleo Diet for Athletes" by Loren Cordain, PhD and Joe Friel, MS might have some practical tips that you could use without actually having to go "paleo"...
TripSwitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 06:38 AM   #3  

S/C/G: 145/160/120

Height: 5'6