Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 05-05-2008, 01:23 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 216/210/125

Height: 5'2"

Default Swimming?

Is there anyone here who swims for exercise?

I'm not referring to water aerobics, but actual swimming (freestyle, breaststroke, backstroke, butterfly)?

I have been swimming on and off for about 8 months now and I am wondering exactly WHEN I will be able to do more than 2 lengths of the pool without gasping for breath??

I absolutely love, Love, LOVE swimming because you feel weightless in the water, your feet, knees, hips and back do not ache, and you don't get all sweaty. Obviously I am getting a good aerobic workout because of being out of breath, but I am wondering when I can expect to get better conditioned so that I can swim several laps without dying!
irishayes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2008, 02:05 PM   #2  

S/C/G: Slow but steady

Height: 5' 11"

i have the SAME question. My father has an inground pool and during the summer i go over and do my cardio while the kids play in the other half of the pool. I can do about the same as you and i am just exhausted. Its like 5 minutes of exercise. But yet i can go on the ellipitical at home for 30+ minutes....what is the deal? My friend was a swimmer in high school and she is heavier than me and can do lap after lap of swimming but can only do the ellipitical for about 3 minutes...just crazy really.
I am really of no help to you, just to say, i know how you feel. Right there with you sister.
Get n healthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2008, 02:15 PM   #3  
Owned by Dixie

Height: 5'4"

Try alternating a breast stroke, side stroke, back stroke with a freestyle laps, it will give you a chance to catch your breath. You clould go to a mask and snorkle so you can breath when you want. but I prefer 1 to 1. It does take a little time but most of the swimmers I watch and swim with will alternate.
L144S is offline   Reply With Quote