Pilates

• Has anyone had significant weight loss with pilates? I started about six months ago but I have only being doing the work out about twice a week. I do notice more strength but not significant weight loss.
  • I don't do pilates but have been thinking about it to tone my stomach. Have you seen any stomach toning with it? Have you been building muscle?
  • Hi there, I've been doing pilates reformer classes since March 2010, and I have actually gained weight since then. (My stomach is not smaller, mainly because I think my main problem is the fat inside on my intestines, not necessarily right under my skin). I think that pilates is extremely important for protecting the alignment of your body and preventing injury; however, rather than causing weight loss, it serves the purpose of making you more able to do the OTHER exercises that WOULD help you lose weight, like cardio.
  • Oh, I forgot to mention that I do the pilates twice a week, and I do cardio on the weekends. Maybe if you did pilates every single day, like Madonna reportedly does, it might cause weight loss.
  • I always felt that pilates was a nice add-on to your routine but not necessarily the main component of staying fit. Losing weight is paying attention to your diet combined with cardio. Pilates alone won't do it IMO.
  • Pilates is considered strength training, not cardio, which means that you won't burn a lot of calories doing Pilates.

However, as you get stronger and you build muscle because of Pilates, you will burn additional calories in a resting state. Muscles burn more calories just laying around there.