Why is CHEESE on the no-no list during Phase 1?

You're on Page 1 of 2
Go to
  • Hi everyone,

I'm starting Dr. Tran Tien's diet and reading his "Unbalanced Diet" book. I am used to doing a low-carb diet, but it will be hard to stop using butter and cheese that I've begun using too liberally.

To justify the lack of cheese, I need to rationalize it. I couldn't find an explicit reason why we cannot eat cheese in his book/pdf. Does anyone know why? The only thing I can think is because it is a dairy and dairy products like milk contain lactose (sugar), but cheese is usually 0 carbs.

Thanks everyone!
  • I'm not an expert on here (just 3 wks) - but I THINK it has to do with the fat content and in which order your body looks for fuel. It will burn newly digested fat before burning stored fat - and it's the stored fat you're trying to get rid of. So that is why this diet is low carb AND low fat for a finite period of time.

Anyone else - correct me if I'm wrong.
  • Some coaches have allowed 1oz of low carb low fat cheese, like a parmesan or a soy cheese instead of milk.

I am under the understanding it was omitted so we could have a lower fat diet, because it is a saturated fat, because many people can't just have a little, and because many are allergic to it and those allergies often cause fluid retention.

I know Dr Tran permits limited use of dairy products in his diet.

I would work this out with your coach or make call and see how you do if you are doing it on your own.

As you already pointed out, it is not part of the plan or on protocol for phase 1.
  • Thanks ladies! The low-fat part is what I need to keep hammering in. On Atkins, fat in my mind was a good source of energy (or a good excuse to eat baaaaacon). I definitely want to get on the right plan and make it as effective as possible. Thanks again