Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 05-09-2009, 11:42 AM   #1  
Maintaining :)

S/C/G: 215/117/120

Height: 5'4"

Thumbs up Exercise encouragement for couch potatoes

For everyone that is dedicated to your exercise program, you can stop reading - this thread is not for you. I applaud your tenacity and commitment to exercise! You absolutely amaze me!

For all the couch potatoes out there that really hate to exercise, my advice is - DO NOT GIVE UP!

Move more - every day. Any way that you can. Keep trying new things until you find what "fits" for you. You will! I promise! Just keep trying! Don't worry about the rules, or advice from others. Forget those voices in YOUR head too - you know the ones - I'm not flexible, I'm too fat to ___. People will laugh, I'm not good at ___, etc.)

Spring is here - now is the time. Make a commitment to yourself to move your body more every day for a month. You CAN do this! And it could just change your life.

For anyone that likes to read sagas, my story is below:

I was dumbfounded recently when more than one person commented on my exercise schedule. They wondered how I motivated myself to exercise regularly. How I got to the point where I actually HATED to miss my workouts?

Who me? The person that for 50 years hated to break a sweat, got bored after 5 minutes on the treadmill, and never met a sport she liked? They can't be talking to me? Can they?

I was the queen of exercise avoidance!

I tried, I really did! I bought the bike, air-walker, weight machines, free weights, treadmill, Gazelle, ab thingies, and an Octagym.

I tried gyms, Jazzercise, running, biking, rollerblading, tennis.

In my workout room, I set up a tv, got a cordless video game controller, rented audio books.

I moved my equipment to the living room so I would have no excuse not to use it.