PCOS/Insulin Resistance Support Support for us with any of the following: Insulin Resistance, Syndrome X, Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome, or other endocrine disorders.

Old 01-13-2013, 11:31 PM   #1  
Now or never

S/C/G: 265/265/165

Height: 5'6"

Default Birth Control

Hello. I was diagnosed with PCOS, I have had cervical cancer, and an ectopic pregnancy and have very irregular menstruation cycles. I was told by a doctor that birth control will help with a lot of the PCOS symptoms and irregular cycles. I cannot take the pill because it causes me headaches and I am not good at taking a pill every day at the same time. I have an appointment tomorrow to get Nexplanon but read that it can cause weight gain. I do not smoke so we concluded that this would be the next best thing to the pill for me. I just cannot stand to think that I will gain more weight from something that will help me with pain I have been living with for the last several years. Anyone have any experience with this form of birth control?
just a fat girl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 01:44 AM   #2  
PCOS/IR/Hypothyroid

Height: 5'8"

No, not that particular one. I don't know if anything here could help you in your "method shopping choices" or not. It was interesting to me when I first found it.

http://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/pcos...ills-pcos.html

I also remember I had to go through several before figuring out I just can't deal in a triphasic pill version.

Hopefully it will be a "good match" for your body chemistry -- whichever BC method you go with and hopefully emerges as the best fit choice for you.

GL!
A.

Last edited by astrophe; 01-14-2013 at 08:34 AM.
astrophe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 03:05 AM   #3  
Stubborn.

S/C/G: 197/See ticker/135

Height: 5'6''