PCOS/Insulin Resistance Support Support for us with any of the following: Insulin Resistance, Syndrome X, Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome, or other endocrine disorders.

Closed Thread

Old 08-02-2002, 12:04 PM   #1  

Default I realize you are not doctors but...

...but you have experience with this, and Iwonder if I could ask some questions.

First, my story:
in the last 18 months or so I've put back on 50 of the 80 pounds I had lost years ago, and now they won't budge. I'm a personal trainer, and none of the answers/tricks I know work. None of the other trainers I know have answers, either. I've tried almost everything (not prescription drugs). I am 27 years old, married, no kids as I'm still in school studying for a physical therapy degree. As you can see, I KNOW the subject of fitness, it's my passion. I backed off for a couple of weeks to give myself a break from the frustration, and it occured to me to come here and look at the PCOS pages (I'm usually a Turtle).

I took the test at PCOSA and came up with a score of 8.5. "If you're concerned go ask". Um, okay. So should I be concerned? My struggles are really with my weight, I don't have problems with excess body hair (never have, I don't even have to shave regularly)(although come to think of it I need to shave more regularly than I used to...hmm) or skin problems. Around TOM each month I break out along my jawline, but it's only at that time of month. I've been on the pill for years, I occasionally just miss a month but I've never been pregnant. I'm usually quite regular. But I read an article in this month's Fitness that says that being on the pill can mask the symptoms of PCOS...I don't know what to think.