Mini-Goals Even if you're not at goal yet, this is the place to share your successes and achievements along the way! Success can be measured in many ways besides the scales. Tell us about your triumphs, including Non Scale Victories

Old 06-16-2021, 10:36 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 360/249/250

Height: 5'11"

Default 110 pounds down, but more to go!

A fairly typically childhood story, I guess. I was always heavy. By the time I graduated High School, I was certainly close to "fat" and despite being quite active in College, I was decidedly FAT by the time I graduated in 1990. My body has suffered. I had a badly herniated disk in about 2007 that required surgery. By 2017, I weighed my heaviest at 377, and both my knees were a mess. I had to get both knees replaced, which I did. That did encourage some activity, and I made some small effort to eat "better" but about that time, the doctor warned me of my rising A1C. I convinced myself it was the stress of being in constant pain from my bad knees and post knee-replacement, I just enjoyed NOT being in pain all the time.

By last September, I had shed about 17 pounds over a few years to get down to about 360. Not dramatic, but I thought for the first time in my life, I was not steadily gaining, and decided I needed to see my doctor, who I had NOT seen in 2 years. I have HBP, and he wanted to see me to see how that was going. Annnnnd... my A1C was 10.4! Ugh. My Mom died of complications from T2 diabetes and I did not want that road to be my future.