Living Maintenance general maintenance topics and discussions

Old 02-15-2006, 11:31 AM   #1  

Height: 5'9

Unhappy Depressed and Obsessing...Please help me!

Okay all...I've been maintaining my weight around 160 pounds for the past 6 months or so (wow, has it been that long?!!). I just don't feel like I'm thin enough yet.

I'm constantly obsessing about gaining weight. I'm always worried that I'm going to gain it all back. I'm really careful about what I eat. I could definately be exercising more, as I'm down to exercising only about twice a week now. That's definately not good. My husband worries constantly that I'm going to develop an eating disorder. I just feel that if I don't obsess, I'm going to become complacent and if I become complacent, I'm going to gain weight.

I look in the mirror and I still think that I look fat. I'm so nervous about spring and summer coming up and wearing less clothing. I have a decent amount of extra skin on my upper arms, stomach and upper thighs/butt. I know that I will never be able to afford plastic surgery to have it removed. I tried on this great skirt and top the other day at Walmart and almost cried because of how my stomach stuck out. All I can see are rolls of extra skin. I'm going to be embarrassed to wear sleaveless shirts because of, again, extra skin. How does this happen? How do I lose over 120 pounds and then be totally ashamed of what I'm left with?

I guess it's just me, but I feel like I've become very flabby over the past couple of months. I don't know if my stomach is all extra skin or if it's fat that I can lose. I don't know whether I should focus on cardio to lose more fat or on strength-training to tone everything. Not that it would matter if I toned my stomach because of all the flab that's over the muscle.