Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 02-24-2013, 01:31 AM   #1  
Christine =)

S/C/G: 247/199.5/160

Height: 5'8"

Default Discouraged newbie looking for support on this journey

Hello! My name is Christine, and Im 24 years old. Ive been significantly overweight for a few years, despite numerous (failed) attempts to lose weight. I was always a little chunky, but after a traumatic event in college, I really packed on the weight, going from 175 to 247 in a matter of 4-5 months. I joined weight watchers in jan 2010 and lost about 40 pounds. I was ecstatic!! Then I graduated college and moved back in with my parents....I gained back 10 pounds. Then I started grad school...and now here I am back only 15 pounds shy of my heaviest. It makes me really sad that Im this weight, and no matter how many times Ive tried to lose weight over the past 3 years, I keep failing. Ill lose 10 pounds, and then Ill have a few weeks of little to no weight loss and I give up and binge eat. I dont know how to break this cycle. My family just doesnt get it. They say to just stop eating. Go for a walk. Eat a salad. But they have NO idea how hard it is for me to not eat the mozzarella sticks or to say no to the cake. They dont get how uncomfortable I am working out in front of other people because I feel self-conscious. I mean 5 minutes of moderate effort on an elliptical and Im out of breath. Im at a loss for how to get healthy again. I feel like its an impossible feat to get to a healthy weight