Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 01-20-2011, 02:59 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 275/T/150

Height: 5'11"

Default It's too late now, but I'm starting anyway

I'm not sure when I became a fat chick, but I'm pretty sure it was some time after people started telling me I was one. I'm one of those terribly stubborn, but easily defeated individuals. I declared myself fat, decided there was nothing I could do about it and stubbornly stuck with that position. Every time I considered losing weight, I decided that it would have been possible X number of lbs ago, but now it was too much to lose. Even now, I'm thinking that 36 lbs ago it wouldn't have been so bad. If I keep up this thought process, I will continue to put on weight at the rate of 10 lbs a year which I've been maintaining (give or take) for the past 12 years.

Three years ago, I made my most impressive attempt to lose weight to date. I joined a gym, hired myself a personal trainer and a nutritionist, and I spent an hour and a half at the gym each day, lifting weights and cooling down afterwards with 30-45 minutes on the elliptical. I felt amazing, but after 4 months and a grand total weight loss of 10 lbs, I couldn't motivate myself to return to the gym after an illness kept me in bed for a week. After all, what was 10 lbs in the grand scheme of things? I regained those 10 lbs plus, and I feel awful.

So, having hit a new high on the scale today (after spending about 6 months refusing to get on it), I'm ready to go again. I'm tired of being tired. I'm tired of being fat. I'm tired of having a built-in excuse not to try.

There is one positive to starting now. I now know that I have allergy-induced asthma. Apparently, I've had it since I was a kid, which explains why I used to get winded so easily even before I was overweight. So, I'm now prepared to commit to exercising with my trusty inhaler in my pocket.