Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 02-20-2009, 11:30 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 165/see ticker/145

Height: 5'6"

Default Hi from Denver!

Hello!
I am 31 years old and am excited to have found this web site! I am a teacher and a writer, though right now I am more teacher and less writer - something I want to change! I used to always journal, which naturally led to short stories and articles that I sold as freelance, but not so much anymore.

I was overweight as a child but thin through most of my 20s. About 5 years ago, when I began teaching full time (and writing less) I started emotional eating big time. I started binging and purging over one summer, but with the help of my husband, got professional help and am happy to say I nipped that problem before it got out of hand. For the past few years I have still been overweight, not much, just 10 or so pounds heavier than I would like - but at least it was stable.

I lost some weight last summer when I realized I was hypoglycemic and I changed my eating habits to 5-6 small meals a day. Then, after I got married, and without the school schedule to structure my day, I gained the weight back plus some. sigh. I hate that.

I feel kinda out of control again - emotional eating, overeating, etc. I was trying to eat 1600-1800 calories a day, but now I feel like eating everything. sometimes it seems like when I try to give more structure to my eating habits, its when i go the most crazy. I don't starve myself but sometimes it's like I convince myself that food is the only thing that will make me feel better.

wow. sorry to go on. I just feel like no one understands. I know my 20 pounds might not seem like a lot of extra weight to some people, but it really gets to me. I tie so much of who I am in my weight and I am SO afraid of gaining more. Petrified, actually.

I hope to get some of the support I am needing right now with this site....