Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 10-06-2008, 12:28 AM   #1  

Height: 5 5

Default Greetings from Vermont.

I've been sort of "lurking" on this website on and off for a few years and decided now is the time to join. I am actively trying to lose weight, and have lost a little over 30lbs since January. Most of it came off just from walking or biking to/from work (four miles round trip) and cutting out the garbage in my diet. I hit a wall at the end of August and wound up joining the gym- so now on top of my normal commute I am doing the elliptical for 45 minutes 5x a week and strength training 2x a week.

My biggest challenge with respect to food, strange as it may sound, is that I don't usually eat ENOUGH during the day. I work as a professional cook in a nursing home, and I guess I just get sick of it! I also have to be careful about eating the food I prepare there, as most of it is designed to put weight onto our resident's!

I am taking the long view with respect to my weight loss. I have PCOS, and with it that tell-tale apple shape, and I really want to reduce my risk for type two diabetes and the other health problems that come with PCOS. I would be lying if I said that was all of it- I'd love for the mirror to be my friend, too!

Anyway, that's my "hello." I'm looking forward to being here. I can offer folks help with food prep and recipe ideas- both from my professional life and my home life cooking for my type-one diabetic fiancee. Cheers!
greycella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 01:58 AM   #2  
Moderating Mama

S/C/G: 295/200/175

Height: 5' 8"

Hey Greycella! I'm so glad you've moved beyond lurking and into posting!

You'll find our great "PCOS/Insulin Resistance" forum in the "Dieting with Obstacles" area...check it out! We also have groups by eating plan and age range. Look around, settle in, and find a spot or several. Can't wait to get to know you better!
mandalinn82 is offline   Reply With Quote