Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 04-05-2008, 10:25 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 146/140/125

Height: 5'2"

Cool New and looking for support

Hi all! I'm new to the world of an online community, as well...

A little bit about me... I'm 27 and have struggled with food and weight all of my life. I know exactly what triggered the whole obsession... when I was 12 (and we all know and remember what it's like to be 12... awkard, insecure, etc), I was overweight. My mother had just lost some weight and we were on vacation down in Florida visiting my grandmother. My grandmother commented on how great my mom looked and looked at me and goes "Now all we have to do is work on you!" ... from that day forward I was so focused on how I looked and how much I weighed. I ended up losing a lot of weight by eating weird foods that would fill me up and then exercising. It was a phase and my eating eventually went back to normal, but I found myself always experimenting with food, etc.

I played sports all through high school and did crew my freshmen year in college, but still was overweight... what can I say? I like to eat! Doing crew gave me a passion for exercise. Although I only rowed for one year, I stuck with an exercise regime that I still follow religiously to this day. I think that has been my one saving grace and an outlet for stress and other anxiety. My weight has fluxuated over the last 8 years depending on what is going on in my life... job, boyfriend, stress level, etc.