Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 10-28-2007, 10:22 PM   #1  

Question hi, newbie here.. what helped you pick the right plan?

I am new to this site....enjoying all your thoughts, stories, advice.....so here's my question: i feel like i have tried everything.....lost then gained back, typical for "diets" , what helped you guys pick a plan that you can do for life?? to lose and keep it off?.......Atkins helped me lose the quickest and the most amount of weight in the past...but I still craved the carbs that they say you eventually should lose/diminish the cravings for. Tempted to try again since it did work the best. (short term result)....any suggestions?

or comments on why a plan works for you? thanks ......a lot for your time/help. so many plans work....... if you can stick to it.....but how to know which you can stick to?........can you guys help me pick a plan>? im already worried this carrot has too many carbs.....lol
letthethingirlout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2007, 10:46 PM   #2  
Made of Starstuff

!

Before I started Weight Watchers, I didn't know anything about nutrition or portion sizes. I began using the points, and I found it easy and informational.

In the beginning it was just learning how much food was enough for me. As I read further through the materials it's more than just amounts, it's the kinds of foods I choose to eat that are important. Choosing more whole grains and fruits & vegetables has made a huge difference.

And of course their famous "Move More" slogan. I liked that because it wasn't just "Go work out for 60 minutes a day, 5 days a week." It was a way for me to ease into exercising (which I have NEVER purposefully done in my entire life) without feeling intimidated or frustrated. I began with brisk 10 minute walks, and am now on the Treadmill 30 minutes for at least 3 days a week, the Elliptical for about 10 minutes, and using a Yoga DVD about twice a week.