Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 03-30-2007, 01:20 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 248/248/148

Default Twenty somthing and Terrified

Hi everyone! I'm 24, and I have been at least a little overweight my whole life. Things got really bad when I graduated from high school. When I was in high school I swam nearly every day, and kept busy with school activities and friends. Now I'm a college student living at home and working full time. I hate how I look. I'm fat and jiggly in all the wrong places. It keeps me from being confident and out going.

I am the queen of excuses. I don't excersize because I'm too fat. I eat junk food because I can. I don't do the things I want to do because my weight holds me back. I don't go swimming with my friends (even though I love to swim). I don't go for walks or bike rides with them. i don't play baseball or rollerblade. Because I can't keep up and I end up feeling even worse about myself then when I started. I love to read and play on the computer. I love to watch movies and write. All things that keep me on my butt and not moving.

Food for me is the enemy. I eat all the wrong things. I eat when I get emotional or stressed and being a college student, well it happens a LOT. I hate what I'm doing to my body. I know all the risk factors associated with being so overweight and it terrifies me. People gain weight as they get older- that is natural. But I'm not old. And if I get much bigger I won't be able to do anything. I need to get this under control.

I'm terrified of what I'm doing to myself, but i'm also terrified of what it means for me. What if I fail? Again. What if I loose the weight and I'm still not good enough. I know lots of silly emotions. But it scares me. I've used my weight as a crutch for too long and it has to stop. I'm hopeing that this page will help me when I get in those "I suck" moods and keep me going instead of just giving up.