Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 02-24-2007, 04:27 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 170/170/135

Height: 5'2"

Default starting out with WW and trying to cut back sugar

Hi, I'm Kat. I am brand new to dieting and I attended my first Weight Watchers meeting at work last week. I carry all my weight around my middle and have back problems so I want to lose 30-40 pounds.

This is all very new to me and I have never counted calories and carbs before. Dieting seems so complicated and Weight Watchers is very expensive. Does anything come with membership or do you have to spend a fortune on books, gizmos, online support, etc.

I am also trying to reduce the amount of processed sugar in my diet. My boyfriend does not eat sugar at all and recommends a book called Sugar Blues to everyone.

I'm looking mostly for some support and some help starting out losing weight.

thanks,

Kat
katdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2007, 08:13 PM   #2  

S/C/G: s/c/g: 173/167.8/130

Height: 5'4

Weight Watcher is expensive, but it does work. You have to make sure you watch your portion sizes because I know a lot of people who wonder why they don't lose weight on it, but when I see them eat, they definitely are not eating recommended portion sizes. But, the nice thing about Weight Watchers is that you get extra points each week that you can use toward your daily points, or for a nice dinner out or something. It's very easy to follow, too. Good luck, I'm joining again on Monday.
cytheria21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2007, 10:13 PM   #3  
Just Yr Everyday Chick

S/C/G: Lost 50 lbs, regained some

Height: 5'3"

Hey cytheria21,

I love Sugar Blues--it is definitely worth reading! It is amazing just how bad refined sugar is for our bodies. Cutting down on it is worthwhile, I think--and even though I do eat some sugar from time to time, I find that I don't like really sweet foods any more. They taste too sweet to me.