General chatter Because life isn't just about dieting. Play games, jokes, or share what's new in your life!

Closed Thread

Old 09-12-2006, 06:27 PM   #1  

Default I think I'm fooling everyone....

Okay well I need to freak out a little bit right now.

I am 3 months into a masters degree in natural science and I am getting very overwhelmed. I can't really complain to friends or family because they will tell me to suck it up and just do it (which I Know i will do but.... just not quite yet). I've worked really hard to get where I am... I'm 21 and I got an honours degree and a scholarship to continue with a masters degree. The thing is.... is that I think i've just been fooling everyone. I'm not as smart as they think I am. I don't exactly think i'm stupid, but i'm in way over my head.
To make matters even worse... I seem to have set the bar very high for myself... My supervisor is telling everyone (other grad students who are SOOOOOO smart) how much progress I've made and to look to me as a role model. When I heard that I seriously started hyperventallating. Yeh, I have made alot of progress.... but no more than anyone else would have made!!! I wish I could say that I am just being modest but I'm not. ANYONE with any basic understanding of what I'm doing could have done what I've done so far.

Now, to make matters worse.... I just found out that I have to present 2 seminars about my original research before I graduate. In front of ALL the professors, graduate students and affiliates in my department.... AHHHHH.
I am not a good public speaker.

I just needed to vent.

-D.
Old 09-12-2006, 06:57 PM   #2  

Hi Delilah,