General chatter Because life isn't just about dieting. Play games, jokes, or share what's new in your life!

Old 02-28-2008, 11:29 AM   #1  
Work in progress

S/C/G: 165/ticker/120???

Height: 5'2"

Default Defining yourself- calling all married women for insight

This is kind of a philosophical post. I got married a little over 6 months ago and moved away to live with my husband. I have no friends in the area... and many of his friends that we would hang out with are all moving away to start their own lives. I suppose this is just the way life goes. I am wrapping up the last semester of my degree- a degree that really means nothing to me other than to say that I have it. When I graduated high school my parents literally said "You are going to college, you have no choice." So I randomly chose business because it seemed to be the most applicable. I hate the subject though, with a passion, and I can't wait to be done with it. As time has gone on, I have struggled immensely with trying to define who I am. Growing up, I met my husband at the age of 14, and he's the only significant other I have ever known. I pretty much grew up with him right there. My parents (Mom specifically) were quite strict and controlling, and in order to avoid punishment, I basically followed all the plans they laid out for me. I never got in trouble, didn't drink under age or do any drugs, waited until I was 18 to sleep with my boyfriend (now husband) and basically did everything they asked, including following through with this meaningless degree. Now, I feel so lost- I have been struck with the infamous question of: who am I? I feel like my husband is all I really have taking up my time right now. But I don't want to be defined by him- to be an extension of him. I also don't ever plan on having kids, though it seems like most women can't wait to start having kids, because it's like they feel being a mom gives them purpose. However, too many times, I feel moms are like "I am mommy" and they fe