General chatter Because life isn't just about dieting. Play games, jokes, or share what's new in your life!

Old 09-04-2010, 07:37 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 275H/148/165ish

Height: 5'10-5'11

Default Any Law Enforcement Chicks here?

As a result of my weight loss, I have decided that I am no longer going to sit on the sidelines of life and take the easy route. I have always had an interest in law enforcement and I want to pursue a career as a police woman/deputy. I would like the anyput of ANY form of female law enforcement either good or bad. Of note, my DH is a deputy sheriff.

I am planning to test for a police department in November and I would like to hear stories from ladies who live that life now.

Tammy
ladyrider72472 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 08:15 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 163/128/125

Height: 5'5

I work as a dispatcher (for about 6 years) and I'm currently on maternity leave. I was originally planning on become a sworn officer but with the baby, this is a better way to balance home and work. My husband is also a police officer so I wanted to make sure we were not on opposite shifts. That is one very unfortunate drawback that you have to consider if your husband is an officer. Unfortunately a lot of husband/wives get opposite shifts and really only have a few hours together per week.

I have done all the physical tests, written tests, etc. All I can recommend is get onto a great weight training program focusing on upper body strength, look up HIIT training (interval running), and have fun! I loved training for the tests. I also very much love my career as a dispatcher. I work in a police department (not a call centre), I work with the same group of officers every time, and deal with a lot of fun and exciting stuff.

What test are you doing? The physical or written? I found the written very easy because I was already an experienced dispatcher so I knew the answers to all the scenarios, the physical is very tough but doable with training.